Drunk Driver Injures Four Adults, One Child in Eugene Accident
Date: May 28, 2011
Location: Interstate 5 near Milepost 194, Eugene
Names: Alejandro Samaniego
A single vehicle rollover crash has resulted in injuries to four adults and a small child.
According to Oregon State Police news releases, at about 2:25am, a 2000 Mercury Cougar was being driven south on Interstate 5 near milepost 194 by Alejandro Samaniego, age 23 of Tacoma, Washington. According to witnesses, Samaniego was traveling at a high rate of speed when he lost control and rolled several times; the vehicle came to rest on its top in the center median.
In addition to Samaniego, occupants of the Cougar included two adult females, an adult male and a 3 year old male. One of the females and the child were ejected from the vehicle; the child had not been restrained in a safety seat as required by law.
Samaniego and all of the vehicle’s occupants were transported to Sacred Heart Medical Center at RiverBend. Their medical status and names of the passengers have not been released pending positive identification.
Samaniego was cited at the hospital for DUII, Reckless Driving, Recklessly Endangering Another Person (4 counts), Failure to Properly Restrain a Child Passenger, and No Operators License.
Our thoughts and prayers go out to all of the victims in this crash, especially the innocent child who depended on the adults around him for his safety. We hope that they will recover fully, and that they will receive all of the support that they need during the months ahead.
In the wake of a tragedy like this, each person must deal with it in whatever way works best for them. We would never try to talk someone into taking legal action. It is an individual decision that can only be made by the family. When a drunk driver causes an injury accident in Oregon, there is a possibility of suing the person or bar who served the alcohol. This must be done correctly, and quickly. There are strict time limits for filing a lawsuit in Oregon, and where alcohol is involved, the limits get even stricter. A Dram Shop Notice must be received by the server within 180 days of the incident, pursuant to ORS 471.565.
We encourage people to educate themselves on the law of drunk driving in Oregon, and we provide free information to help you settle your lawsuit without an attorney. But when a drunk driver is involved, the law becomes very tricky, and you should contact an experienced Portland car accident lawyer.